NEWEC Board of Directors

The Council is led by a diverse, volunteer board that includes professional educators, parents and representatives of private industry.

Board President: Lisa Poplawski Lewis, M.Ed., Greater Spokane Incorporated, Spokane

Vice President: TBD

Secretary/Treasurer: Jana Jaraysi, Eastern Washington University, Cheney

Kathy Bumgarner, NEWESD 101 Board of Directors, Spokane

Chaise Gies, M.S., NW Family Psychology, Spokane/Seattle/Silverdale

Buffy Nustad, Spokane Teachers Credit Union, Liberty Lake 

Suzanne Schmick, Retired Superintendent, Endicott




Council's goal: Build opportunity for kids

State "core" funding of ESDs in Washington has been declining for more than a decade. In 2020, "core" funding totaled only about 5 percent of the overall NEWESD 101 budget. The remaining 95 percent was derived from competitive grants, cooperatives and fees for service.

To compensate for declining state revenue in a time of rising need, NEWEC was formed to help diversify and stabilize funding for service to students and schools.

Ways to help

Gifts may be made to the Council in a number of ways including volunteerism, one-time donations, multi-year pledges, matching corporate gifts, endowments and bequests. Gifts options include:

• Cash

• Gifts in-kind (personal property)

• Securities

• Designated United Way donations

The Council is a 501(c)(3) public charity. That is an IRS designation that means the organization is eligible to receive tax-deductible contributions.


NEWEC mission statement

IRS 990-EZ statement, 2019

NEWEC funding guidelines
jQuery(window).load(function(){ //set color for mobile menu in safari $('#menubar #mobileNav').css({ 'background' : '#fff', 'color' : '#4c4c4c' }) })